Needle in the sand

The weather has been blessed, it really has been. And to make the most of it curly tops and I have opted to send many mornings at the beach.

While playing in the sand and enjoying the earth beneath our feet, as I smothered my feet into the sand something struck me. It was laying loosely on the sand and to my dismay, as I peaked closer it was a syringe with the very long sharp needle still in place.

Also in the sand were soiled nappies, plastic bottle tops, spoons and forks, bones…yes chicken bones, from the nearby “burger king” and many other unimaginable items.

For expats who have never lived on the coast before, being close to the sea is a real treat. Thankfully, I guess, (I think- maybe not), I have chosen to be careful and still enjoy the beach, while many of my friends are too disgusted to go near any of them, fearing an accidental walk into the sharp needle and other stuff, and the fact that the sewage is dumped into the water.

My hope is that people see the beauty around them and ensure that we all do our bit to look after mother nature. In the meantime we will continue to frequent the beaches and soak up the sun, sand and water.

Peace

8 thoughts on “Needle in the sand

    • Thank you for sharing it @Umkhaloodie, it is rather appalling. The thing is that so many people complain and do nothing, its about time that we all become proactive

      • Agree Whiteamber. My friend trod on a syringe on the beach and had to under all sorts of tests and shots. It was a very worrying time for her.

      • Oh my goodness, I hope she got through ok, I do have that fear when we are on the beach, but I still don’t want to put limitations on going there

  1. Do you really think people care? Nope. Some may do, but not all. And the ones who do care probably have no power to influence the ones who don’t.

    • @LexoKat, sadly we cannot be responible for others but we can control our actions, on a micro level it is still possible to influence others while to do agree that other measures should be taken by policy makers. Perhaps fining people who do litter on the beaches would be a good start

      • I personally tell all my friends not to through their garbage around. So I’m pleased with my actions. If we all do this, then who knows, maybe it will change.

Leave a Reply

