crayons + tshirt + sandpaper = fun art

I found this ready made pack in one of the stores and was fascinated but unwilling to spend a great deal on a once -off-item. So I came back home and googled how to DIY my own little kit to acheive the same thing. I was sooo excited that it worked, and it was soooo easy.

So I bought some sandpaper at the little hardware place around the corner for 100 fils

I had some pastel crayons I bought a while ago from the souk and we go drawing. I asked curly tops what she would like to draw and have on a t shirt, so she wanted an apple tree. I drew the outline and left her to the coloring (on the sandpaper of course)

Once this part was done, I scrambled through her t-shirts and found one that had a stain on that wouldn’t come off. The t shirt was ready to be thrown out so no harm in testing this transfer out on it I thought.

I placed a cardboard paper inside the t shirt to avoid it seeping through, then I placed the sandpaper upside down onto the tshirt, placed a layer of tissue paper/ serviette over it and began to iron.

In a few minutes the old stained t shirt became a new upcycled one that was ready to be used again- the new picture covered up the stain 🙂

I used my hairdryer to set the picture onto the t shirt. The alternative would be to place it in a dryer for 20 minutes

I just found a new way to cover up all the stains, and individualize plain t shirt and clothes and make gifts for my nieces and nephews and other kids 🙂

I think I am more excited about this than curly tops is :p

 

 

One thought on “crayons + tshirt + sandpaper = fun art

Leave a Reply

