pLaY dOuGh- from the kitchen cupboard

Our play dough has dried up and curly tops really enjoys playing with it- she keeps at it for ages. Cutting, rolling, making animals (her version of them), and cookies in various shapes.

I looked for a new recipe today and planned to make one more rubbery- silly me- I scrolled through the ingredients, had them all and just began.

http://www.playdoughrecipe.com/rubbery-playdough-recipe/

Only half way through I realised I didn’t have enough bicarbonate of soda 😦

So I went back to my old recipe,

http://www.playdoughrecipe.com/cream-of-tartar-playdough-recipe/

and tried to mix up my own concoction by merging the 2 recipes.

I added 1 cup of corn flour

1 cup flour

1 cup of salt

1 tbsp oil

2 tspn bicarb

2 cups water

and boiled it up

And it didn’t turn out too badly after all. Slightly rubbery, slightly sticky but good enough to play with. I added some red color to one piece, some turmeric to the other and I left the other plain

Curly tops made balls of different sizes as we explored numbers by counting how many balls, how many were big and how many small. She also made her own creations of what she called butterflies and caterpillars 🙂

Play dough is really so much fun, great for motor skills, creativity and role play

Leave a Reply

